It is well, with my soul.

The first few weeks of 2015 have whizzed by and all of the sudden it’s the middle of the month! This new year is unlike any new year I’ve ever experienced; I’m unsure if it’s because of me or things happening around me, but probably a combination of both.

A friend remarked that it’s probably because I attended Rise Up and was so inspired that I feel this way. I’m not too sure, but that’s definitely one of the factors. I feel more free, not necessarily more reckless, but maybe more carefree?

I bought a plane ticket on the third day of the year to attend a conference smack in between the last days of classes and my finals. ?!?!?! I would never have done something that reckless before! But I absolutely cannot wait for that adventure to come along!

IMG_9835  I spontaneously signed up for snowboard lessons. I would NEVER put myself in this kind of physical exercise! But it happened, last Sunday. I woke up not knowing how to snowboard. Six hours and a very sore body later, I can do the basics! It was exhilarating, painful and so FUN. I can’t wait to go back and fall over again and again until I master this addicting sport.

IMG_9863

Another thing I would never have done last year – attend a baby shower when the only person I knew would be the baby’s mom. I don’t know what compelled me to say yes so quickly to the invitation, but it was such a blessing meeting the rest of my friend’s family (and her husband!) as well as catching up with some old friends. The love of her family and friends was so present at that gathering, I can’t help but be a tiny bit jealous. But my excitement for this new chapter of her life definitely overrides my jealousy. Look at her! She’s positively glowing!

IMG_9862_2

And with the new year, things begin and things end. It’s been a blessed two years serving in CFC-Youth but it was definitely time to give my place to someone else. Someone else who needed the community, the sisterhood and the accountability more than me. I think the hardest part about leaving was knowing that I would be leaving my sisters who would continue to grow together while I would be growing on my own, or elsewhere. Yet, regardless of who we journey with, so long as we aim our eyes on Christ, we shouldn’t worry about anything. It was very difficult to let go of those friendships, but it’s all the more motivating for my to keep those relationships going. To keep in touch, to continue to pursue and bring out Christ in others. I don’t know where I’d be without the community of Campus-Based and without the friendships I’ve made there. I’m going to miss these sisters!

IMG_9839

I’d say it’s been a pretty amazing first few days of the new year. I can’t wait for what else the Lord has in store for me, what with mission and WYD prep. I look forward to the opportunities He places in my life to witness, which I’m finding easier and easier to work through.

It is well, with my soul.

One thought on “It is well, with my soul.

Leave a Reply

