An all-star weekend

The best weekend of 2015 consisted of a family dinner on Friday, a day trip on Saturday and a reunion on Sunday. It was spontaneous, of course, because when do my actual plans ever turn out well? 

FRIDAY

I always volunteer in the mornings at a SLP-VPL speech therapy class and it’s always so fun. With a super complicated name, the little kids always have trouble with it, I mean, OBVS, they’re here because they need speech therapy, but one little boy came running in yelling my name! It was the best way to start the class and he clung to me for most of it. Which shows that our therapy IS working! I really hope that I can make speech work for me as a career because it’s always evolving and growing. Le sigh, one day. 

And then, went out to a super fancy dinner with the fam! The restaurant was in the hotel where my sister and I had our grad ceremonies so it was nice of reminisce about high school and how life really did get better. There was a live duo playing every single one of my favourite songs – they were great! And the food was to die for. I wish we didn’t go on a Friday, because I always like to get steak we go someplace fancy but everything we had was bomb. And the desserts! It was just nice to have a sit down dinner with the fam and catch up on life. 



SATURDAY

OH, MAN. First mini road trip with OG! We left super early in the morning to cross the border and srrived waaaay earlier than my mail box opened. I had won a free book from Epic Reads – A Wicked Thing by Rhiannon Thomas. I haven’t started it yet but OG swears by it so I’m looking forward to reading it. (A modern take on Sleeping Beauty, but 100 years after she’s put to sleep. Her kingdom is basically in chaos.) 

We had lunch at McDonald’s, obviously. AND THEN. WE HIT UP KATE SPADE. AND I BOUGHT KATE SPADE NUMBER SIX. A beautiful lemon yellow handbag crafted to perfection and made specifically for me. LOVE. 



After a few detours, we finally made it to Seattle and we were on out way to the Praramount Theatre. 

Edit

So many little kids dressed up in pearls and gowns, they were adorable. We wished we had dressed up but then it was quite cold in Seattle. Cinderella was amazing and since I’d never heard or watched it before, it was all new! Such a fun musical with really beautiful and catchy music. The one lady in waiting in the green though, SHE KILLED IT. And Cinderella’s ON STAGE costume stages, that was tricky magic going on right there. The set was beautiful and the orchestra played perfectly. My only comment would be that it felt really short. Maybe in the sense that there was so much more talking than singing, but that’s not really it. I loved it! This also marked the fourth year of musical going for OG and I. I hope we contribute this annual tradition forever, haha! 



After fantasizing about our own Prince Topher’s, OG and I wandered around Downtown Seattle, eating ice cream, people watching at the Pier until we stumbled upon the sketchiest looking pizza place. But we were hungry. Turns out to the best spot for freshly bake pizza. Defs feeling the Italian familia vibes and all in all, we’re definitely going to go back. Dinner was so cheap too – 12$! For the two of us! We were totally stuffed. And the server was cracking jokes and made us feel totally welcome, it was great. 



Second last stop at Barnes & Nobles. It definitely felt like I was a cheating girlfriend, HAHA. But they have some things that we don’t! I picked up the hardcover boxed set of Legend by Marie Lu. It’s beaaaaautiful in hardcover with printed in for Day and June’s perspectives. Ahh, it’s just the best. And I also bought Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi in hardcover. I love me some hardcovers and since we don’t sell them in Canada, I had NO CHOICE. (And I am also buying the books I want to get signed when OG and I attend Yallwesy, which is in TWENTY-NINE days!!!!!!!!!!!!!!) 



And last but not least, The Cheesecake Factory! It’s so intimidating going in there and having to push our way through the crowds of people JUST to get to the cheesecake counter but it’s totally worth it. Picked up three slices for the fam and I literally could not drive home fast enough to each them. 

And alas, our Seattle adventure day came to an end. We drove home to the soundtrack of Cinderella, committing each song to memory so that at work, we can spontaneously burst into song. It was a long day, but a really fun day spent with a friend I really, truly love. Oh, the silly dreams we dream up when OG and I get together. 

SUNDAY

GAT REUNION DAY! I was super pumped for this day because it would the first day of a complete GAT team!!! In preparation for TU’s impending departure, we planned out a dinner of meat and halo-halo. And oh, maaaaaan. The patience. Some people took forever to arrive until we were literally shaking at the table, staring at the food in longing, and ready to say grace immediately after the last two of us arrived. But it was such a happy dinner of laughs and jokes, it really felt like no time had passed since our constant togetherness in the Philippines. 

There was an intense ice shaving station set up for halo-halo and we watched some of our vlogs. I know that we may not be all that close again in the future, but sharing GAT definitely bonds us all together. And it’s nice knowing that whenever we see each other that feeling of familiarity and friendship is always going to be there. 



Leave a Reply

